Nigeria, South Africa pooled in Cyprus Women’s Cup 2019

Nigeria and South Africa will compete in the Cyprus Women’s Cup 2019 to be held in Cyprus on 25 February to 7 March.

The AWCON 2018 finalists will be among 12 nations that will suit up in the annual tournament.

Nine of the 12 featured in Cyprus 2018 namely Czech Republic, Finland, Korea DPR, South Africa, Hungary, Italy, Austria, Belgium and Slovakia.

Nigeria and Thailand will be the sole debutants while South Africa will be marking their seventh appearance.

Banyana Banyana will be looking to better their best ever finish: sixth-place in the 2018 edition.

RELATED: Kgatlana feted in Cyprus Cup 2018 

The African duo will be using the tournament to prepare for the 2019 Women’s World Cup set for France in June.

Thailand and Cyprus 2018 runners-up Italy are the other World Cup-bound nations in Cyprus 2019.

Euros 2017 semi-finalist Austria will be the only former champion in next year’s edition, the 12th since the tournament commenced in 2008.

The groups

Reigning African champions Nigeria have been drawn in Group C alongside Austria, Belgium and Slovakia.

South Africa are in Group A alongside Czech Republic, Finland and Cyprus 2018 bronze medalists Korea DPR.

Group A – Czech Republic, Finland, Korea DPR, South Africa

Group B – Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Thailand

Group C – Austria, Belgium, Nigeria, Slovakia

Former champions

2008 – Canada

2009 – England

2010 – Canada

2011 –  Canada

2012 –  France

2013 –  England

2014 –  France

2015 –  England

2016 –  Austria

2017 –  Switzerland

2018 –  Spain

What did You think of the Story?